Actif Carmarthenshire Sport Awards 2021 - Thursday 10th March

Carmarthenshire's sporting talents were celebrated at the Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards 2021 on Thursday evening (10th March). 

Held for the 22nd time, it took place at the Ffwrnes Theatre in Llanelli and organised by the Carmarthenshire County Council Sports and Leisure team.

The annual Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards recognised the sporting achievements and successes of individual athletes and sports clubs as well as acknowledging the contribution made by dedicated coaches and hardworking volunteers who make a difference through sport and their communities.

This year, we were also thanking individuals, teams and clubs who, despite the COVID-19 pandemic, overcame adversity to inspire others to be active during lockdown.

The ceremony is one of the most prestigious evenings in Carmarthenshire’s sporting calendar. The evening was hosted by rugby union referee and presenter, Nigel Owens MBE.

As well as the Sports Personality of the Year Award, the categories included Young Sportsman and Sportswoman, Community and High Performance Sports Coach, Sports Volunteer and Young Volunteer, Sports Team, Young Team and Community Club of the Year, Outstanding Services to Sport Category and Hall of Fame.

More than twenty individuals, six teams and three clubs were up for a total of 12 awards. A range of sports and backgrounds were involved again in this year's edition, including Athletics, Cycling, Hockey, Tennis, Gymnastics, Football, Weightlifting, Cricket, Darts, Dance, Rowing, Karate, Judo and Shooting.

The shortlist, families, supporters, sponsors, county council staff and VIP guests gathered at the venue in the centre of Llanelli Town Centre and welcomed main sponsors, McDonalds.

Other award category sponsors this year were 1st Line Funeral CareEnzo's Homes LimitedColeg Sir GarTAD BuildersUniversity of Wales - Trinity Saint David and Sport Wales.

The ceremony inducted not one, but two MBE’s to join some of Carmarthenshire Sporting Greats in the Hall of Fame - Robert Croft (Cricket) and Dr Hedydd Davies (Athletics).

Actif Sport and Leisure were presented with the Silver INSPORT award by Tom Rogers, Partnership Manager from Disability Sport Wales after achieving an accreditation for inclusive services.

The Charity for the evening was Llanelli Mind and Mind Carmarthen and guests kindly donated over £700 towards the work of this worthy cause.

There was also a tribute to the 5 Welsh Women Rugby players from Carmarthenshire who were given the first ever professional and semi professional contracts – Alisha Butchers, Bethan Lewis, Hannah Jones, Caitlin Lewis and Ffion Lewis.

Thank you to everyone who attended at the Theatre, joined us virtually online for the first time and supported the awards ceremony on Thursday. Thank you to everyone who nominated an individual, team or club for this year's awards.

Good luck to everyone for the year ahead in 2022.


Album of Photos from the Awards Ceremony (Facebook)



Sports Personality of the Year (sponsored by McDonalds)

Winner: Jonny Clayton (Darts)

Runner Up: Chris Gibbard (Cycling)

Runner Up: Lewis Evans (Athletics)

Young Sportsman of the Year (sponsored by 1st Line Funeral Care)

Winner: Frank Morgan (Athletics)

Runner Up: Leo Weston (Tennis)

Runner Up: Tomos Phillips (Judo)

Young Sportswoman of the Year (sponsored by University of Wales - Trinity Saint David)

Winner: Emily Shawyer (Shooting)

Runner Up: Emily Mitchell (Cross Fit & Weightlifting)

Runner Up: Freya Evans (Artistic Gymnastics)

Young Sports Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Josh Edwards (Football)

Runner Up: Bethan Reynolds (Gymnastics)

Runner Up: Savannah Thomas-Millet (Dance)

Sports Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Gerraint Burrows (Football)

Runner Up: Alan Jones (Football)

Runner Up: Manon Dixon (Rowing)

Community Sports Coach of the Year (sponsored by Enzo's Homes Limited)

Winner: Rob Campion (Athletics)

Runner Up: Gerraint Burrows (Football)

Runner Up: David Thomas (Gymnastics)

High Performance Sports Coach of the Year

Winner: David Thomas (Gymnastics)

Runner Up: Carol Jones (Athletics)

Runner Up: Carol Sargeant (Gymnastics)

The Ryan Jones Memorial Award for Outstanding Services to Sport

Winner: Dave Rayson (Football)

Runner Up: John Davies (Cricket)

Runner Up: Ralph Siggery (Athletics)

Young Sports Team of the Year (sponsored by Coleg Sir Gar)

Winner: Carmarthen Wanderers U17s Cricket Team

Runner Up: Carmarthen Harriers Junior Team

Runner Up: Dafen U11s Cricket Team

Sports Team of the year (sponsored by TAD Builders)

Winner: Carmarthenshire Karate Team

Runner Up: Carmarthen Men's Hockey Team

Runner Up: Llangennech AFC Walking Football Team

Community Sports Club of the Year (sponsored by Sport Wales)

Winner: Ammanford AFC

Runner-Up: Johnstown FC

Runner-Up: Llanelli Warriors

Hall of Fame

Robert Croft MBE (Cricket)

Dr Hedydd Davies MBE (Athletics)